2018 BoG and Senate representatives announced

Campus News

Seven per cent of undergraduate students vote in election

File photo by Hugo Wong/The Martlet

Releasing the results a week after the UVSS election concluded, the University Secretary announced the winning representatives to serve on the UVic Senate and Board of Governors for 2018–2019.

Andrea Mellor and Pierre-Paul Angelblazer won the graduate and undergraduate seats on the Board of Governors, respectively.

Of the 15 original candidates for Senate, nine were elected: Brent Cantarutti, David Eso, and Diana Popova from the Faculty of Graduate Studies; Nathan Daisley, Isabella Lee, Jordan Gilson, and Curtis Whittla from the Faculty of Social Sciences; and Yu Ten (Jason) Wu and Adrienne Graham from the Faculty of Science.

As the only Faculty of Humanities candidate, Cameron Leckenby was automatically elected as a student senator.

Each faculty must have at least one student representative on the Senate, but not all faculties were represented in this election. As a result, the Faculties of Education, Engineering, Fine Arts, Human and Social Development, Law, and the Peter B. Gustavson School of Business will seek representatives to be approved through a by-election in early April. Nominations are open until March 19, and the by-election will take place from April 4–6 via the UVic WebVote system.

Only 4.92 per cent of eligible graduate students and 6.83 per cent of eligible undergraduate students voted in the Board of Governors election (151 and 1 213 students respectively). Six per cent of all eligible UVic students voted in the Senate election (1258 students).

The newly elected representatives will begin their terms in September.

For more information on running in the Senate by-election, visit https://www.uvic.ca/universitysecretary/voting/nominations/call%20for%20nominations%20for%20student%20byelection%202017.php.